So, we’ve got the videos from the Ubuntu Developer Summit posted here, but as Alan Pope pointed out, a big Apache listing isn’t necessarily useful. So he made an attempt to make something better.

Since we recorded these I’ve been thinking about ways we can not only get this stuff out to people, but also in a way that would be slick and available to people in multiple formats, preferrably supporting open formats. Alan suggested blip.tv, and in very little time I was able to upload all the videos and have them aggregated throughout many video sites. The most useful thing to me so far has been the bulk upload (I just fired up an ftp client and loaded all the videos in at once), and of course they offer Ogg Theora video support along with flash.

They also let you blog with inline stuff like this (let’s hope this makes it onto planet properly):

Here’s the channel: http://ubuntudevelopers.blip.tv/
and here are the archives which I find more useful. I just set it up to send our videos to archive.org. This seems to be a good way to put our content on the internet. I like the support for Ogg Theora, I wish it had automatic Theora-to-Flash fallback so we could default to Theora in the channel – but this seems to be a much better solution than the YouTube channel. Please note that I am just experimenting with this to see how well it works, I think it’s much better than the file listing. What do you guys think?