As usual, Mathieu Trudel-Lapierre has helped me fix my idea problems. When I was in Ireland I realized that I wanted a “extras” package for Ubuntu. Things that I would normally kickstart or add to a friend’s machine when I’m hooking them up. Apps like Pitivi, Miro, GTG, etc.

Such a side project would need to be classy; adding great apps, as if we had a larger CD, but not swapping out apps or anything like that. I had the idea of having something like a b-side to a record. Now before you think “crap apps that don’t make side a”, think of things like “Garage Days”. Awesome songs that are better than most hits, but apps people use, so it’s not a big wildcard.

Thus my idea for b-sides was born. I got a lame metapackage started and Mathieu actually made it work. Here’s the PPA and here’s the list of apps. Add the metapackage and it’s like Matt and I coming to your house and adding to your Ubuntu experience!

Thanks to Matt for making my idea work! Thanks to David Siegel for the name, and mpt and Ryan Paul for the initial app suggestions. We’ll likely keep these apps static, so if you want to modify it, please feel free to take it and make your own remix! Remixes I would like to see:

K-sides (hah, guess what this would be!)
Sysadmin Remix (with your htop, terminator, etc.)
Mega-art remix! (With tons o’ artwork)

This saves me time because I can just tell people to install b-sides instead of remembering what apps I install over and over. Enjoy!

UPDATE: Someone was keen enough to point out that this is basically the “Fifth Toe” from the old GNOME days, but for Ubuntu. That sounds about right.